It’s official!

Project2013 is to get the funds needed to develop an outcomes based curriculum for the spiritual development of children and youth.  However, it will happen in a novel way.

Tony at a recent Toy Run

Tony at a recent Toy Run

Every Diocese is committing to invest R5000.00 each towards the cost of the development of the curriculum (by end February 2014).  And, Tony Lawrence, the Provincial Youth Coordinator, will collect the deposit slips on a tour of all the South African Dioceses during March 2014.  And, he’s going to do it on his motorcycle!  He will be travelling 5000 kms starting in Cape Town and visiting 21 Dioceses in 30 days.

Bishop Steve Diseko announced the Tour in his letter to the Synod of Bishops a week ago.  You can download the official letter by clicking HERE or a smaller version by clicking HERE.

Please follow the tour schedule to see when he will be visiting your Diocese during March 2014.  While he’s there, he will be:

  1. Speaking at an event (service) organised by the Diocese and the Diocesan Youth Committee and focusing on the dire need for a set of spiritual development guidelines and curriculum for Sunday School Teachers and Youth ministry leaders (including a facilitator training programme).
  2. He will also lead a discussion on the young people’s view of Church and how we can develop strategies to actively involve young people in the ministry and mission of the Church.
  3. Time permitting, he may also speak at other events and forums organised by the locals.

Announcements about the local events will be communicated in the New Year.

Although this Tour will focus on the Dioceses, we are also inviting individuals and organisations to invest in this project.  The outcomes of the project and the implementation of the curriculum will ensure that our children and young people get the best in spiritual formation and development and that can only bode well for the growth of the church and the impact it will be able to make in society in the future.

Email us at [email protected] for more information and how you can get involved.

Read more about Project2013 – HERE.

Project2013 – Awareness and Fundraising Tour – 2014
Arrival Town/City Diocese Days stay Arrival Date Day Event time
Cape Town Tablebay 0 02 March 2014 Sun Morning
Paarl Saldanha Bay 1 02 March 2014 Sun Evening
Beaufort West Halfway stop 1 03 March 2014 Mon
Britstown Halfway stop 1 04 March 2014 Tue
Kimberley Kimberley/Kuruman 2 05 March 2014 Wed Evening
Bloemfontein Free State 1 07 March 2014 Fri Evening
Klerksdorp Matlosane 1 08 March 2014 Sat Evening & next Morning
Johannesburg (South) Christ the King 1 09 March 2014 Sun Evening
Johannesburg (Central) Johannesburg 2 10 March 2014 Mon Evening (Mon or Tue)
Benoni The Highveld 1 12 March 2014 Wed Evening
Pretoria Pretoria 1 13 March 2014 Thu Evening
Polokwane St Mark 1 14 March 2014 Fri Sat event and Sun morning
Tzaneen St Mark 1 15 March 2014 Sat Morning and afternoon
White River Mpumalanga 1 16 March 2014 Sun Evening
Piet Retief Halfway stop 1 17 March 2014 Mon
Eshowe Zululand 1 18 March 2014 Tue Evening
Durban Natal 2 19 March 2014 Wed Evening (Wed or Thu)
Kokstad Umzimvubu 1 21 March 2014 Fri Evening
Mthatha Mthatha 1 22 March 2014 Sat Afternoon/Evening
Butterworth Mbashe 1 23 March 2014 Sun Afternoon/Evening
Queenstown Khahlamba 1 24 March 2014 Mon Evening
Grahamstown Grahamstown 2 25 March 2014 Tue Evening (+Cott)
Port Elizabeth Port Elizabeth 1 27 March 2014 Thu Evening
George George 1 28 March 2014 Fri Evening
Somerset West False Bay 1 29 March 2014 Sat Evening
Home 1 30 March 2014 Sun Morning